The Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award

The Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award encourages the development of new Australian plays or performing arts projects emphasizing positive values.

The Award is offered each year for the development of a play or other approved performing arts project.

The Award provides financial assistance for playwrights during the writing or development of a play or a project. It is not intended as a prize for a finished work.

The Award may also assist with production costs, workshops, restaging, publishing or touring. A recipient may be working alone or jointly with others including writers, composers, designers, directors, producers.


Applicants for the Award should download:

Applications to be emailed and mailed. (refer to Entry Form for full details)

Ms Carol Martin
The Seaborn Broughton & Walford Foundation

Suite 10, 20 Young Street,
Neutral Bay NSW 2089

Phone: 02 9955 5444

The Trustees

The Trustees of the Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award are:
Gary Simpson AM
David Berthold
Ken Healey AM
Lee Lewis
Diana Simmonds


The Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Trust receives funding from the Rodney Seaborn Estate. Although it is closely associated with the SB&W Foundation, the Trust is a separate legal entity. The Trust welcomes contributions from companies and individual donors. Contributions of $2 and over are tax-deductible.